OHS journalism wins 16 individual awards

OHS journalism wins 16 individual awards

The OHS journalism program received 16 individual awards at the Sponsors of School Publications annual spring conference held Monday (March 12) at Webster University. The Prowl student newspaper staff earned eight individual awards, the Channel 97 News broadcast staff garnered four, and the Tiger Paw yearbook staff won three. Emily Maag, editor-in-chief of The Prowl, received a superior rating in the Senior Write-off competition.

Individual newspaper winners include Andrej Dzidic (best of show, cartoon), Andy Fernandez (excellent, feature writing), Sarah Girardier (honorable mention, news writing), Courtney Kluge (honorable mention, page design), Emily Maag (honorable mention, inside page design), Ciera McNabb (honorable mention, cover), Kayla Polka (honorable mention, news writing), and Mikayla Putz (excellent, feature writing).

Broadcast won an excellent rating in the Public Service Announcement category. The Channel 97 News staff also received honorable mention for two sports and one feature story.

Yearbook winners include Kyle Dallman (excellent, sports design and honorable mention, student life design) and Sarah Koenen (excellent, sports writing).

The Prowl also received a Superior rating in the Overall Newspaper contest (this is the highest rating a publication can receive). The 2011 Tiger Paw yearbook earned an Excellent rating.