Journalism students recognized at National Journalism Convention


Tiger Paw Yearbook

OHS participants are recognized at the national convention.

Of the over 2,000 students who participated in write-off contests, only 814 received awards at the National High School Journalism Convention Nov. 1-3 in Chicago. And seven of those awards went to OHS students .

Kristin Kuchno (12) received a superior award, the highest possible rating, for Yearbook Copy and Captions: Clubs. For broadcast, the team of Caden Turner (12), Isabella Wirthlin (10) and Selma Vukovic (11) received Superior in the Broadcast Public Service Announcement category. Jordan Beseda (11) earned an Excellent award in Broadcast Anchor.

“I was shocked,” Beseda said. ”It was really hard and I was convinced I did bad.”

Bethany Hagan (11) received an Excellent rating in Sports Writing. Newspaper editor-in-chief Christina Meier (12) received an honorable mention for Review Writing.

“I was super excited for the national recognition,” said Meier. “The experience itself was fun and I’m proud of the results.”

Other honorable mentions went to Caroline Lewis (12) for Yearbook Copy and Captions: Academics and Emily Merritt (11) for Sports Action Photography.