OHS students are AP Scholars

For the first time in OHS history, 32 students and graduates have been recognized as AP Scholars.

AP Scholar Awards are given to students based on their scores on the AP exams as well as how many tests they have taken. AP exams are college level standardized tests that focus on one subject each, so receiving one of these awards is a big deal.

“It was an honor. I feel that all my hard work [for the APs] did pay off,” said Clarisse Caliman (11)

To be recognized as an AP Scholar, a student must have received a three or better on three or more AP exams. AP exams are graded on a scale of one to five.

Ten OHS seniors and seven OHS graduates were named as AP Scholars: Katherine Bathon (2010 grad), Morgan Bronson (2010 grad), Lauren Chapman (2010 grad), Julianne Kernen (12), Molly Kostecki (12), Pierce Langford (12), Elizabeth Lutchefeld (12), Jennifer Martin (2010 grad), Lauren Marx (2010 grad), Ryan Moyie (12), Michael Reynolds (12), David Rohlmann (12), William Schmittgens (12), Stephanie Sheehan (12), Nicholas Street (12), Taho Thai (2010 grad) and Scott Vogelpohl (2010 grad).

To be deemed an AP Scholar with Honor Award, a student must have an average score of 3.25 on four or more exams. That is equal to earning a four or better on nearly all of the exams.

Five OHS seniors and one OHS grad were named AP Scholars with Honor Award: Justin Bayer (12), Eric Briesacher (2010 grad), Daniel Condra (12), Lacey Dreppared (12), Nicholas Kutay (12) and Abigail Wood (12; transferred).

To receive the honor of being named an AP Scholar with Distinction Award, a student must have an average of 3.5 on five more more AP exams. To earn such a score, a student must earn a four or higher on most of the exams.

One OHS junior, three OHS seniors and five OHS graduates were named AP Scholars with Distinction Award: Conrad Allen (12), James Ballard (2010 grad), Clarisse Caliman (11), Mikkah Kennedy (2010 grad), Eric Lehr (12), Amy Meyer (2010 grad), Daniel Stefanus (2010 grad), Michael Weaver (12) and Kevin Whaley (2010 grad).

“I am very proud that we have so many students recognized,” OHS principal Bill Scheffler said. “It is a testimony to both the students and teachers at Oakville High School.”